June 10, 2021

The Joint Commission announces 2020 Eisenberg Award winners

By: Judy Mathias

Editor's Note

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF), on June 9, announced the recipients of the 2020 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards.

The awards recognize and honor initiatives in three categories:

Sponsored Message

  • Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level—Veterans Health Administration Rapid Naloxone Initiative, Washington, DC
  • Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level—Northwestern Medicine Academy for Quality and Safety Improvement, Chicago
  • Individual Achievement—David M. Gaba, MD, staff anesthesiologist and director of the Patient Simulation Center of Innovation, VA Palo Alto Health Care System, California, and professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Pain Medicine, and associate dean for Immersive and Simulation-based Learning, Stanford University School of Medicine, California.

The awards program, which started in 2002, honors the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and a passionate advocate for healthcare quality improvement.


Sign Up For OR a.m.
Sign up for the free OR a.m. eLetter to get news like this in your inbox every morning!

OR Manager Jobs
Live chat by BoldChat