February 15, 2024

The Joint Commission, NFQ announce 2023 Eisenberg Award recipients

Editor's Note

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum (NQF) on February 14 announced the recipients of the 2023 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. The Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

This year’s recipients are:

  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: The Surgical Pause – Veterans Health Administration
  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: Creating a Culture of Quality for Cardiovascular Care in Michigan – BMC2
  • Individual Achievement: Eduardo Salas, PhD, Rice University.

The awards were launched in 2002 in honor of the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and a founding member of NQF’s board of directors. Visit the Eisenberg Awards webpage for more information about each category, this year's awardees, the award panel, and previous Eisenberg recipients.


Join our community

Learn More
Video Spotlight
Live chat by BoldChat