November 9, 2022

The Joint Commission, Kaiser Permanente announce winners of Tyson award

By: Judy Mathias

Editor's Note

The Joint Commission and Kaiser Permanente, on November 8, announced two winners of the 2022 Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity—NYC Health + Hospitals, New York, and Texas Children’s Pavilion for Women, Houston.

The award recognizes healthcare organizations that led initiatives that achieved a measurable, sustained reduction in one or more healthcare disparities.

NYC Health + Hospitals was recognized for its “Making Healthcare a Human Right: Expanding Access to Healthcare to Undocumented New Yorkers” initiative.

Texas Children’s Pavilion for Women was recognized for its “Quality Improvement Initiatives on Decreasing Racial Disparities in Maternal Morbidity” program.

The Joint Commission logo

Live chat by BoldChat