April 21, 2022

The Joint Commission announces 2021 Eisenberg Award recipients

Editor's Note

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum, on April 20, announced the 2021 recipients of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards, which recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

The awardees are:

  • Individual Achievement Awardee: Hardeep Singh, MD, MPH, chief of the Health Policy, Quality & Informatics Program in the Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness and Safety at Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center and professor at Baylor College of Medicine, for his efforts to improve diagnostic safety and the safety of health information technology.
  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: Prime Healthcare Services, for establishing a program to address social determinants of health at a system level.
  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality: Kaiser Permanente Northern California, for its creation of advanced patient monitoring systems and alerts.
  • Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPH, former president and CEO of The Joint Commission.

Award recipients are chosen by a diverse panel of national patient safety and quality experts.


Get OR Manager Updates

Sign Up Now
Latest Issue of OR Manager
June 2023
Video Spotlight
Live chat by BoldChat