January 3, 2018

New York first state to pass ‘BSN in 10’ law

By: Judy Mathias
Share

Editor’s Note

New York is the first state to require new nurses to obtain a bachelor’s degree or higher in nursing within 10 years of initial licensure, the January 2 HealthLeaders Media reports.

The legislation takes effect immediately; however, the degree requirement does not start for 30 months. The new law does not affect nurses already in practice.

There has been a push toward legislation commonly knows as “BSN in 10,” for years, but New York is the first state to pass such a law, the report notes. Baccalaureate preparation has been linked to improved care and patient outcomes.

Read More >>


Sign Up For OR a.m.
Sign up for the free OR a.m. eLetter to get news like this in your inbox every morning!

Live chat by BoldChat